Skip to content

1/13/2010 – News

Volume 126, Number 50           Wednesday, January 13th, 2010

Commissioners reorganize
The Benson County commissioners reorganized at their first meeting of the year on Tuesday, January 5. Left to right are County Auditor-Treasurer Bonnie Erickson, who serves as secretary for the board; Lowell Haagenson of Leeds, chairman; Curtis Hvinden of Maddock; David Davidson of Fort Totten, vice chairman; Michael Steffan of St. Michael; and Jason Lee of Maddock. The commissioners meet the first and third Tuesdays of each month.

Leeds students of the quarter
Leeds High School announces its students of the quarter for the second quarter of the 2009-2010 school year. Students are selected for this honor based on their academic performance, cooperation, attitude and effort, student involvement and responsibility. Left to right are seventh grader Andrea Jorgenson, daughter of Steve and Geri Jorgenson; sophomore Darren Young, son of Brian and Linda Young; eighth grader Clay Kitzmann, son of Brad and Leah Kitzmann; junior Blake Darling, son of Rick and Jana Darling; freshman McKenzie Silliman, daughter of Randy and Brenda Silliman; and senior Ashley Manley, daughter of Jeff and Michelle Manley.

Hoop Shoot winners
The Devils Lake Elks Lodge #1216 sponsored its annual district hoop shoot contest on January 10. Thirty-seven boys and girls ages 8-13 participated in the event from the following schools: Adams-Edmore, North Star (Cando-Bisbee-Egeland), Dakota Prairie, Four Winds, Devils Lake, Leeds, Maddock and Rock Lake. First place winners in each age division are: Left to right, back row, 8-9 boys — Carter Anderson (Dakota Prairie), 10-11 boys — Lane Ritterman (Leeds) and 12-13 boys — Jonathan Skjervheim (Adams-Edmore). Front row, 8-9 girls — Mattea Vetsch (Devils Lake), 10-11 girls — Jessee Rude (Devils Lake) and 12-13 girls — Sarah Hagler (North Star). First place winners from each division move on to the state competition Saturday, Jan. 16 in Jamestown.

Contest winners
The American Legion Eastern Divisional Oratorical Contest was held in Maddock Saturday, Jan. 9. First place went to Jonathan Reich of Medina, second place to Ben Backstrom of Maddock and third place to Kaylee Gaarder of Park River. Jonathan and Ben will advance to the state contest at the Mid-Winter Legion Conference in Mandan on February 6.
They will meet two contestants from the Western Division. The state winner will advance to the national level and compete in Indianapolis, Ind. Left to right are Jonathan Reich, Ben Backstrom, Kaylee Gaarder and David Daeley of Maddock, Eastern Division chairman.

Students of month

Students of the month at the Warwick Elementary School have been chosen.

They are Pre-K (Mrs. Holden) Mark Fassett Jr. and (Mrs. Moxness) Shelby Stevenson; kindergarten (Mrs. Gjovik) Shanese Jetty and (Mrs. Leith) Skylor Anderson; first grade (Mrs. Freeman) Taniya Redfox and (Ms. Olson) Xavier Brown; second grade, Devin Cavanaugh; third grade, Gionni Robertson; fourth grade, Shania Georgeson; fifth grade, Katelyn Omen and sixth grade, Samantha Owlboy. Left to right, back row, are Xavier Brown, Shelby Stevenson, Gionni Robertson, Samantha Owlboy and Devin Cavanaugh.

In the front row are Skylor Anderson, Taniya Redfox and Shaneese Jetty.

Not pictured are Katelyn Omen and Mark Fasset Jr.

Warwick perfect attendance
Warwick Elementary School students who attained perfect attendance in December are pictured with Elementary Principal Steve Jacobson.

Pre-K, Mrs. Holden: Kadence Little, Jozey Retzlaff; Mrs. Moxness: Khloe Cavanaugh, Cadence Feather, Alionna Lawrence, Shelby Stevenson.

Kindergarten, Mrs. Leith: Peyton Azure, Glenna Rue.

Grade 1, Mrs. Freeman: Gina Demarce, Marlin Demarce, Keyen Omen, Cole Smith.

Grade 1, Ms. Olson: Nathan Cavanaugh.

Grade 2: Gary Feather, Kalem Jackson, Justice Robertson, Truth Robertson, Sydney Tollefson.

Grade 3: Jordan Bertsch, Bill Brown, Emily Rainbow, Gionni Robertson.

Grade 4: Sage Bertsch, Traysen Feather, Juia Hill, Kasa Lohnes.

Grade 5: Dashone Cavanaugh, Aggie Little, Kaylean Lohnes, Hailey Redfox.

Grade 6: Jace Baker, Isaac Owlboy, Samantha Owlboy.

Near Perfect Attendance, Kindergarten: Shanese Jetty.

$500 donation
Jason Tracy, Leeds EDC Gaming Committee member is pictured presenting a check for $500 to Lori Nelsen, a member of New Horizons. The money will be used for construction of a local food pantry.

Leave a Comment