Skip to content

11/26/2008 – News

Volume 125, Number 43           Wednesday, November 26th, 2008

Benson honored
Leeds School Board President Randy Silliman presents a plaque to Kathy Benson in recognition of her nine years of service as business manager for the Leeds School District.
Robotics team advances to region competition at U of A The Kittson Central High School robotics team from Hallock, Minn. will compete at the Frontier Trails regional BEST (Boosting Engineering, Science & Technology) competition at the University of Arkansas in Fort Smith December 4-6.
Led by Kim Jones of Lake Bronson, Minn., a science instructor at Kittson Central and the group’s advisor, the team placed at the Bison BEST competition held at NDSU in Fargo October 30 and November 1.
Jones is the daughter of John and Marilyn Conway of Leeds and a graduate of Leeds High School and Mayville State College.
The competition her robotics team took part in is sponsored by BEST Robotics, Inc. and is a way to inspire students to pursue careers in engineering, science and technology.
Each team builds it own robot that must carry out specific tasks during competition. The Kittson Central team placed second in Fargo, which reflects individual awards given to the team for engineering, T-shirt design, oral presentation and sportsmanship. The team also earned second in the robotics portion of the competition for its robot’s ability to perform designated tasks and the operator’s ability to navigate the robot through a course.
Jones was also an advisor last year when two robotics teams from Kittson Central advanced to regional competition, one in Arkansas and one in Atlanta, Ga.

Kim Jones, background, celebrates a job well done by her robotics students.

Entertain seniors
Kindergarten students from the Minnewaukan School entertained at the Minnewaukan 55 Club November 19. Students performed several Thanksgiving songs and other favorites. Left to right, front row, are Kenyon Longie, Esther Dauphinais, Casey Greywater, Taylor Baker, Sade McKay, Shawnathon Demarrias, Joseph Schneider, RayAnn Greene, Cherish Waanatan, Dason Longie and Austin Littlewind. Back row: Vincent Shaw, Devin Littlewind, Annie McKay, Jalecia Greywater, Shandyn Ami, Justin Rainbow and Adriano Martin.

Warwick perfect attendance
Warwick School students who had perfect attendance for the first quarter are shown. Left to right, back row, are school board president Larry Thiele, Courtney Paul, Vanessa Volk, Traci Owlboy, Samone Motley, Sangeigh Delorme, Sindy Volk, Elisha Baker, Sky Littlewind and school board member Kay Gravdahl. Front row: Jacob Eback, Antoine Motley, Thorne Poitra, Anthony Falcon, Talen Lohnes, Collin Delorme, Jalen Kingbird and Constance Paul.

Unique turkey
Minnewaukan second grader Ian Morin made a unique turkey out of cereal, cloth and a Cheeto. His teacher is Carrie Arness.

Students of Quarter
Warwick School nominees for students of the quarter for grades 10-12 were, left to right, Carolyn Bigtrack, Jason Blueshield, Frank Demarce, Chassandra Guthrie, Samantha Joramo and Amber Langstaff. Samantha Joramo was chosen student of the quarter.

Warwick School nominees for students of the quarter for grades 7-9 for the first quarter of 2008 were, left to right, Eddy Alcalan, Samone Motley, Brionna Green, Antoine Motley and Brooke Redfox. Samone Motley was chosen student of the quarter.

Leave a Comment