Skip to content

7/30/2008 – News

Volume 125, Number 26           Wednesday, July 30th, 2008

Citizen of Year
Sherri Thompson, center, (class of 1987) was named Minnewaukan’s citizen of the year during the banquet for the All-School Reunion and 125th anniversary of the town’s founding. She spearheaded the celebration. On the left is Myron Hjelden of Vergas, Minn. (class of 1960), who served as master of ceremonies, and on the right is Minnewaukan Mayor Curtis Yri (class of 1970), who presented the certificate.

The late Dr. Jaroslaw and Sophia Terlecki were inducted into Minnewaukan’s Hall of Fame at the banquet. Their daughters came from Albuquerque, NM to witness the induction. On the left is Minnewaukan Mayor Curtis Yri, who presented certificates. In the center is Cathy Terlecki Goldberg (class of 1968) and on the right is Dr. Marta Terlecki Edwards (class of 1969).

Moose visits area
On July 22, Benson County Sheriff Steve Rohrer took a photo of this moose in the pasture just west of Jim and Diane Yri’s West Bay Resort adjacent to ND 19 about 4 miles northeast of Minnewaukan.

Esmond class of 1958
Members of the Esmond High School class of 1958 gathered at Esmond for the annual Esmond Eagles Reunion in July. Left to right, back row, are Jim Streifel, Jim Bengson, Bob Leier, Patty (Hoffner) Heisler, Beatrice (Krim) Wolfe, and Bonnie (Arnold) Hagen. In the front row are Rose (Hager) Buse, Larry Pace, Jerome Binfet and Diane (Wolfe) Lenertz.

Maddock FFA members exhibit at ND State Fair
Three members of the Maddock A. S. Gibbens FFA Chapter exhibited agriscience projects at the 2008 ND State Fair. Mikel Buckmier, Andy Backstrom and Preston Gilderhus exhibited projects in the Botany and Plant/Soil Science Division of the Agriscience Fair Exhibit Class. All three received a blue 1st place ribbon with Gilderhus receiving a Grand Champion Award in the Junior High Division.
Gilderhus’ agriscience project was titled "An Analysis of Bacteria Found in Soils." He is eligible to exhibit his project at the National Agriscience Fair to be held in Indianapolis, Ind. at the National FFA Convention in October.
Buckmier’s agriscience project was titled "Germinating of Crops at Different Temperatures with Effect of Fusarium Head Blight" and was 2nd and runner up in the Junior High Plant/Soil Science Division.
Backstrom’s project was titled "Roots and Plant Growth of Radish and Zinnia Plants in Various Soil Medians." Andy was runner up in the senior high division of the Plant/Soil Science Division.

Exhibiting agriscience projects at the 2008 ND State Fair in Minot last week were, left to right, Mikel Buckmier, Andy Backstrom and Preston Gilderhus, members of the Maddock A. S. Gibbens FFA Chapter.

Preston Gilderhus is shown with the project he is eligible to take to the National Agriscience Fair in October.

Scenes from Minnewaukan All-School Reunion Talent Show

Lori Thompson O’Connell (1973) handles the registration for Harvey Taylor (1958) of Fargo.

Alex Beecroft played the guitar and Tyler Heser played the guitar and sang. Heser will be a teacher at Minnewaukan next year.

Joanna Carlson Hart (1994) of Albuquerque, NM, Amanda Staloch Sagsveen (1995) of Bismarck and Jennifer Carlson Taylor (1991) of Foreston, Minn. sang.

Wayne Peterson (1956) of Pueblo, Colo. did some stand up comedy and played the harmonica.

Selling T-shirts at the school for the Minnewaukan Alumni Assoication were Deanna Olson Hanson (1955), Nancy Hanson Thompson (1976) of Devils Lake and Jennifer Carlson Taylor (1991) Foreston, Minn.

For the final number of the talent show, Joanna Carlson Hart (1994) of Albuquerque, NM and Amanda Staloch Sagsveen (1995) of Bismarck joined three old ladies who wanted to sing in all numbers during the show but were turned down by the performers. They are sisters Rhonda Knodle of Valley City, Claudette Carlson of Minnewaukan and Jan Bakke of Carrington.

Mrs. Chapman sported a pin on her cap which stated, "I’ve survived damn near everything."

Evelyn Helgeson Chapman (1939) of Everett, Wash. shows her pleasure at the quality of the performances during the talent show.

Rev. Jeff Wallace (1982) of Selby, SD sang for the crowd.

Vicki Lysne Carr (1963) and Michael Fury of Scottsdale, Ariz. and Minnewaukan performed for the large crowd.

Master of ceremonies Vern Thompson (1974) is shown in a skit with teacher David Salisbury on his Harley. Dennis Johnson (1967) of Devils Lake was co-master of ceremonies.

Kevin Thompson (1976) played the part of the school janitor in a skit.

Carl Wayne Gilbertson (1972) entertained the crowd with his guitar playing and singing.

Leave a Comment