Skip to content

4/23/2008 – News

Volume 125, Number 12            Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008

Mayor for a day contest
An essay contest, "If I Were Mayor For A Day" was held at the Maddock Library recently. Grades 4, 5 and 6 were invited to participate in the contest as part of government week. Prizes included food and bowling at Maddock Cafe & Lanes. Left to right, are Shelby Brandvold, Jaden Lunde, Allyson Lauinger, Tabitha Lawson, Kaylee Tollerud, Natalia Wright, Kristi Medalen and Kenadi Lee. In the background is Maddock Mayor Kevin Winson. In the foreground is library board member Ruth Wallin. Perky Backstrom is the Maddock librarian.

Visit Dorgan in Washington
US Senator Byron Dorgan (D-ND) meets with parishioners from the Spirit Lake Indian Mission in St. Michael at his Capitol Hill office.
The parishioners made the trip to Washington, DC to see Pope Benedict XVI, who conducted Mass there last week. Included in the group were Jessica Kurtz, Kristina Kurtz, Laura Smith, Laurie Bachmeier, Darien Trottier, Alexander Cavanaugh, Colbert Gannon, Lilisa Gannon, Charday Foote, Andrea Bachmeier, Nancy Kurtz, Jane Smith, Kelly Gannon, Father Robert Ruge, Inila Bullhead and Lois Bachmeier.

Take first at state
Nikki Herman and Ali Strand, along with three other Leeds students and their FCCLA advisor, Jane Brown, attended the North Dakota FCCLA (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America) conference the beginning of April. They participated in a STAR event, their category being a chapter service project. They planned the benefit for Hannah Anderson that was held in the Leeds High School gym in March. They received a gold star and first place. This gives them the opportunity to advance to the National FCCLA Leadership Conference in Orlando, Fla. in July. They both plan to attend, along with their FCCLA chapter advisor.

Maddock has annual FFA banquet
Maddock FFA Chapter Reporter
The A.S. Gibbens FFA Chapter of Maddock held its annual banquet on April 11. The banquet is held to thank parents and friends for their help and to recognize FFA members’ accomplishments over the past year.
Opening ceremonies were conducted by the officer team, consisting of Michelle Olson, president; Paul Rice, vice president; Kimberly Randle, secretary; Courtney Foss, treasurer; Beau Buehler, reporter; and Andrew Backstrom, sentinel. The welcome was given by the high school principal, Mrs. Kim Anderson. The creed was presented by Preston Gilderhus, Maddock FFA Chapter winner and the District 3 creed winner. An invocation was given by the chapter chaplain, Kaidi Kenner. Following the invocation a meal prepared by parents and family members was served. Dinner music was presented by Preston Gilderhus. A slide show of chapter FFA members and accomplishments was created and presented by Courtney Foss.
Introductions of officers and guests were given by the chapter secretary, Kimberly Randle. A greeting from the FCCLA was given by Maddock FCCLA President Erin Leier. The State FFA Northeast Region Vice President, Chelsey Flick of Harvey, was the special guest for the evening and had greetings from the State FFA Association.
Each year a Phillip Bingham Memorial Scholarship is given to an outstanding senior FFA member and this year’s winner was Michelle Olson. This was the 30th anniversary of the Phillip Bingham Memorial Scholarship, which is given in memory of Phillip Bingham, a former Maddock FFA member. The Star Chapter Greenhand was awarded to the sophomore who has been most involved in FFA and this year’s winner was John Sears. The Star Chapter Farmer was presented to Beau Buehler. The Jim Meyer Memorial-Diversified Production award was given to Levi Slater. The Honorary Chapter Degree was given to John Rice Jr.
A $200 scholarship from the ND State FFA Alumni was given to Kimberly Randle. There were four senior officers who were honored with appreciation gifts from Mr. Wald, chapter FFA advisor. They are Michelle Olson, Paul Rice, Courtney Foss and Kimberly Randle. Closing ceremonies were conducted by the officer team.

Picture, left to right, are Michelle Olson, Kimberly Randle, Courtney Foss, Beau Buehler, Andy Backstrom and Paul Rice.

Gets new mower
Andy Stensby of Minnewaukan sits on his brand new lawn mower at the Minnewaukan Gazebo. Andy has a custom mowing service in Minnewaukan and also works at the school. In the background is the bell tower which used to be on top of the fire hall. A 1931 John Deere D stands guard at the bell tower. (Photo by Glen Tofsrud)

Class gives gifts
Each year the Maddock third grade class holds a charity bake sale to donate to a cause or causes they have researched or feel the need to help. This year the third graders raised more than $130 at their bake sale. They are donating their money to the St. Jude Children’s Hospital, MeritCare children’s wing, The Ronald McDonald House in Bismarck and the dog pound in Devils Lake. Members of the class are, left to right, seated, Akala Knatterud, Spencer Sears, Lin Ella Pistol, Ethan Nolden, Faith Dosch and Ethin Johnson. Standing are Emily Sears, Hannah Pierson, Evan Eyl, Becca Johnson, Gannon Engkvist and Taylor Foss.

Academic Challenge
An Elementary Academic Challenge was held at the Maddock School April 14. Nine teams from surrounding towns participated. First place went to the Maddock Blue Team. Members of the blue team (with the trophy) are, left to right, back row, Maria Sears, Kaleb Westad, Renae Lauinger and Alexis Gigstad. In the front row are Nora Duren and Jaydin Risovi.

The Maddock Gold Team tied for fourth place. Members of the gold team are, left to right, back row, Dylan Lauinger and Justin Johnson. Middle row: Blake Buckmier and Alyssa Armentrout. In the front row are Brooks Duren and Kristi Medalen.

Leave a Comment