10/24/2007 – News
Volume 124, Number 38
Bell monument complete
The bell from the Immanuel Lutheran Church of Maddock is enshrined forever on the eastern edge of the church cemetery in a field rock monument built by Duren Brothers Construction of Maddock.
The church was established in 1887 and when it closed on July 1, 2001 the congregation decided to preserve the bell. Funding for the monument has come from several sources, including gifts and memorials that were not designated for other uses.
The bell was shipped from the St. Louis Bell Foundry, Stuckstede & Bro. in St. Louis, Mo. on June 28, 1905. Cost of the bell and clapper is listed on the invoice as $305.75. Albert Immanuel Lutheran Church received a 50% discount on hanging the bell, saving $25.00. The $19.98 cost of freight was deducted and a note was made that the cost of transportation was to be paid by the purchaser. The final cost was listed as $310.77. Stuckstede and Bro. also provided a 10 year warranty on the bell and hangings. If they broke, they would be replaced without charge.
Field rock was provided by members of the congregation. Unique rocks include Indian hammerhead rocks and a rock with fossils. Immanuel Lutheran Church is located five miles north of Maddock on ND Highway 30.
The Good Samaritan Hospital Association recently held its annual meeting. Re-elected to the board were Craig Johnson, representing the Rugby area; Jon Nelson, representing the Rolette/Wolford area; and Mark Schaan, representing Balta area. Arlyss Bergrud was elected the new representative for the Maddock area. Members of the board are pictured, back row, left to right, Rob Hovland, Dick Anderson, Wes Black, Jon Nelson, Craig Johnson and Jerry Jurena. Front row: Pat Heggen, Metta Schell and Arlyss Bergrud.
David Swanson of Maddock, right, was honored with a plaque for his nine years on the board of trustees. Presenting the plaque is board president Wes Black.