Skip to content

8/15/2007 – News

Volume 124, Number 28            Wednesday, August 15th, 2007

Flags fly at museum
Flags fly in front of the Minnewaukan Museum on Sundays during warm weather when the museum is open from 2 to 5 p.m. The flags, left to right, are the current US 50-star flag; the 48-star flag used during WWI and WWII; the 45-star flag used during the Spanish-American War; the 33-star flag used at the beginning of the Civil War; the UN Flag, under which US military personnel fought in the Korean Conflict; and the North Dakota State Flag.

Fishing tournament
Sixty-five teams participated in the 7th Annual Spirit Lake Marina Walleye Classic Open fishing tournament held on Devils Lake August 11 and 12. Winners of the $10,000 first prize were Hans Halvorson of Grafton and Scott Larson of West Fargo. Big Fish Contest winners were Rene Dube of Manitoba and Keith Seidlinger of Devils Lake with a weight of 6.84 lbs. Winners from this area included the second place team of Todd Gullickson and his son Derek of Leeds, who won $4,500 and Jeff Trana of Devils Lake and Rick Darling of Leeds, who took home the fifth place prize of $1,000. Daniel Lohnes, marina director, holds up a couple big fish caught in the second day of the tournament.

Churchs Ferry OES celebrates centennial
The Wild Rose #58 Chapter of the Order of the Easter Star of Churchs Ferry celebrated its 100th anniversary on July 28. Guests were from Bismarck, Cando, Devils Lake, Fargo, Lakota, Mandan, Minnewaukan, Minot, Munich and New Rockford. There were 25 members present. Many from out of state were unable to be present. The anniversary began with a noon luncheon, followed by a short program. Members shared stories from the past. The oldest chapter member, Christine Clark, who turned 100 years old August 11, shared some stories.
Among state officers at the celebration were Worthy Grand Matron Dawana Jenson and Worthy Grand Patron Alan Siirila.

Attendees of the 100th anniversary celebration of the Churchs Ferry Order of the Eastern Star were, left to right, seated, Mark Motis, Lois Isakson, Ardell Olson, Christine Clark and Margaret Rohrer.
Middle row: Marian Swingdoff, Audrey Dressen, Arlene Triebold, Jean Boesl, Dorothea Larson, Dorothy Kitterman, Barbara McCormick, Shirley Young and Darlene Albertson. Back row: Worthy Grand Patron Alan Siirila, Lee Larson, Worthy Grand Matron Dawana Jenson, Don Albertson, Sally Dahl, Earl Isakson, Beverly Dyste, Inger Thompson and Allan Young.

Leave a Comment