Skip to content

5/9/2007 – News

Volume 124, Number 14             Wednesday, May 9th, 2007

Minnewaukan students create art

Each spring, teachers of K-12 in North Dakota schools select student art to enter in the North Dakota Juried Student Art Show. Of the approximately 800 entries this year, the jurors selected 19 pieces for the following awards: three Governor’s Awards, to be hung in Governor John Hoeven’s offices, five State of the Arts Awards, sponsored by Senator Kent Conrad, five Northern Visions Awards, sponsored by Senator Byron Dorgan, and six Artistic Discovery Awards, sponsored by Representative Earl Pomeroy. An additional 80 pieces were selected by the jurors to become a traveling show for the following year. Nicole Gefroh of Minnewaukan won at state with her work pictured above entitled, "Sometimes the Pain Won’t Leave."

For the second year in a row, Aaron Tollefson won best of show with his scratch art at the Pekin Student Art Show in Pekin. The show is for grades 7-12 and was held April 15-18. It was sponsored by the Nelson County Arts Council. Both shows are supported by grants from the North Dakota Council of the Arts.

Nicole Gefroh
The following students were also winners at the Student Art Show in Pekin: Minnewaukan: Dallas Welch, Grade 10, 1st/Pencil and 2nd/Watercolor; Tyson Holy Bull, Grade 12, lst/Watercolor and 3rd/Colored Pencil; Aaron Tollefson, Grade 12, lst/Scratch Art; Kylee Rallo, Grade 9, 3rd/Oil; Kendall Young Bear, Grade 10, 3rd/ Watercolor; Mary Delorme, Grade 10, Honorable Mention/Watercolor; Cher Littlewind, Grade 12, 2nd/Mixed Medium; Cody La-Rocque, Grade 9, 3rd/Mix Medium; Jackie Armentrout, Grade 10, 2nd/Ceramics and 3rd/Yarn Art; and Gregor Schmid, Grade 10, Honorable Mention/Yarn Art. Seventh and eighth grade students were: Bren-nen Thompson, Grade 8, 3rd/Tempera; Tim Cloud, Grade 8, 3rd/Ceramics; Sydni Wind, Grade 7, lst/3 Dimensional Sculpture; Daniel Bellanger, Grade 7, 2nd/3-Dimensional Sculpture; and Dorothia Santos, Grade 7, 3rd/ 3-Dimensional Sculpture.
Four Winds: Shane Martine, Grade 12, lst/3-Dimensional Wood; Jeremey Dauphinais, Grade 12, 2nd/3-Dimensional Wood; Dallas Littlewind, Grade 12, 3rd/3-Dimensional Wood; William St. Pierre, Grade 11, Honorable Mention/3-Dimensional Wood; Mattie Medicine Stone, Grade 12, 2nd/Quilting; Danille Left Bear, Grade 10, 3rd/Quilting; Megan Whitetail, Grade 11, Honorable Mention/Quilting; and Miranda Belgrade, Grade 10, Honorable Mention/Quilting. Seventh and,eight grade students were: Jessica Morken, Grade 8, 1st/Colored Pencil; Ulanda Two Hearts, Grade 8, 2nd/Colored Pencil; Denise White, Grade 7, 1st/Markers; Cris Cook, Grade 7, 3rd/Markers; Ryan Jetty, Grade 8, 1st/Acrylic; and Alura LaRoque, Grade 8, 2nd/Mixed Medium.

Senior tea held
The Minnewaukan Timely Topics Club hosted a senior tea May 6 for the Minnewaukan senior class girls and their mothers at the home of Sophia Terlecki. This is a yearly tradition that began more than 40 years ago. Those who were able to attend were, left to right with seniors seated and mothers standing: Brandi Weed and her mother Shelly Weed, Carrie Hillebrand and her mother Shareen Roberts and Katie Clifton and her mother Kelli Clifton.

Spelling bee champs
The Benson County Spelling Bee was held February 17 at the Minnewaukan School under the direction of Jean Olson, Benson County Superintendent of Schools. Preston Gilderhus of Maddock (left) was the overall champion and Christopher Houle of Leeds was runner-up.
The boys competed at the North Dakota State Spelling Bee in Bismarck March 23. Winners in each grade are pictured on Page 2A.

Finalists in the bee were, front row, left to right, Christina Cloud, a seventh grader from Minnewaukan and Logan Gunderson, an eighth grader from Leeds. Back row, Christopher Houle, an eighth grader from Leeds and Preston Gilderhus and Ben Backstrom, eighth graders from Maddock.

The eighth grade winners are, left to right, Ben Backstrom of Maddock, 4th place; Logan Gunderson of Leeds, 3rd place; Preston Gilderhus of Maddock, 2nd place; and Christopher Houle of Leeds, 1st place.

Winners from seventh grade were, left to right, Alisa Greywater of Oberon, 5th place; Kendra Leibfried of Leeds, 4th place; Kayla Karlsbraaten of Maddock, 3rd place; James Johnson of Maddock, 2nd place; and Christina Cloud of Minnewaukan, 1st place.

Sixth grade winners were, left to right, Seth Bisbee of Leeds, 6th place; Josh Blegen of Leeds, 5th place; Sara Schwanke of Maddock, 4th place; Chelsea Rallo of Minnewaukan, 3rd place; Katherine Sears of Maddock, 2nd place; and Traci Owlboy of Warwick, 1st place.

Spelling bee winners from fifth grade were, left to right, Nikia Hill of Oberon, 6th place; Alex Wells of Four Winds, 5th place; Lacey Grann of Minnewaukan, 4th place; Dylan Lauinger of Maddock, 3rd place; Shelby Brandvold of Maddock, 2nd place; and Shelby Jorgenson of Leeds, 1st place.

The fourth grade spelling winners were, left to right, Sara Gilbraith of Leeds and Arlete Lohnes of Minnewaukan, 6th place tie; Virginia Fasset of Warwick, 5th place; Larse Azure Jr. of Oberon, 4th place; Alyssa Armentrout of Maddock, 3rd place; Julissa McGarvey of Leeds, 2nd place; and Maria Sears of Maddock, 1st place.

Third grade spelling winners are, left to right, Tesa Sherman of Minnewaukan, 6th place; Mathias Follman of Leeds, 5th place; Nikara Nelsen of Leeds, 4th place; Darrian Stone of Four Winds, 3rd place; Jaydin Risovi of Maddock, 2nd place; and Nora Duren of Maddock, 1st place.

Winners from the second grade were, left to right, Spencer Follman of Leeds, 6th; Tiana Thumb of Oberon, 4th place; LinElla Pistol of Maddock, 3rd place; Jarin Alberts of Four Winds, second place; and Emily Sears of Maddock, 1st place. Not pictured is the 5th place winner, Hailet Redfox of Warwick.

The first grade winners were, left to right, Louie Blacklance of Oberon, 6th place; Cody Walen of Minnewaukan, 5th place; Sage Bertsch of Warwick, 4th place; Garret Tandeski of Maddock, 3rd place; Tate Benson of Maddock, 2nd place; and Danielle Schwanke of Leeds, 1st place.

Jordan Callahan to attend Girls State
Jordan Callahan, a junior at Minnewaukan High School, has been selected to attend ND Girls State June 3-8 on the campus of UND in Grand Forks. Her sponsor is Gunnerud-Dietrich Unit 86 of the American Legion Auxiliary of Minnewaukan.
Flickertail Girls State is a mythical 51st state where citizens learn about and participate in city, county and state government activities.
While in high school Jordan has been involved in volleyball, basketball, track, student council, science Olympiad, drama, band and chorus. She is also an honor student. She is the daughter of Michael and Jean Callahan of Minnewaukan.

Leave a Comment