Skip to content

4/18/2007 – News

Volume 124, Number 11             Wednesday, April 18th, 2007

Trophy show winner
Craig Blomster of Harlow was the People’s Choice Award winner at the Maddock Memorial Home’s trophy show. He displayed an elk he shot with his bow and arrow in Arizona in 2005. It scored a 328. He received a plaque that read, "Members Only, The Bigger the Bull, the Better the Bull Session." Others who received honorable mention were John Schafer’s elk, Raymond and Carty Buckmeiers’ coyote and Ansel Haukness’ marlin.

Ninety-five-year-old Ansel Haukness stands beside the marlin he caught off the coast of Mazatlan, Mexico in 1971. The marlin has been on display at the Maddock Business & Technology Center.

Mounts on display pictured here are members of the deer family, waterfowl, a bear and a big walleye.

This mount of a weasel with a dead muskrat was done by Gary Nilson of Maddock.The display is in a glass case.

This coyote, belongs to Raymond and Carty Buckmeier of Brinsmade.

Chris Finley of Oberon displayed this Texas wild pig.

Erickson on NPEC board
Ron Erickson of Esmond was re-elected to the Northern Plains Electric Cooperative Board of Directors at the District 2 meeting on March 31 in Maddock. Erickson has served on the Northern Plains Electric board of directors since 1992.

Smokey visits here
Smokey the Bear visited the students in grades 2-5 at the Minnewaukan School on April 10. The students learned what makes a wildfire and what to do if they see one. Students also received a gift bag with fire safety information. Mr. Risovi’s 5th grade class is pictured with Smokey. Left to right, front row, are Demrae Ami, Calum Sherman, Darion ThreeIrons, Darian Charboneau, Lacey Grann and Katelyn Greene. Back row: Jasten McKay, Alissia Hernandez, Austin Erickson and Smokey the Bear.

Loken attends conference
Lance Loken of Bismarck, president of Western Plains Consulting, Inc., recently attended the National Environmental Information Association Conference in Charlotte, NC. He served as moderator and round-table chair and also received training on the latest developments in asbestos and lead-based paint, including EPA activities in North Dakota. He is on the EIA’s National Board of Directors.
Loken is a Benson County native and is the son of Charlotte Loken of New Rockford and the late Gordon Loken.

Funds go to building
Greg Maddock of the Maddock Multi-Purpose Building accepts a check from Marla Kenner of the Maddock Active Women. The check represents $2,000 in free-will donations and $500 in Thrivent Financial matching funds raised at the open house and supper sponsored by the Active Women and Multi-Purpose Building board on April 13. Approximately 180 people toured the building and had supper.

Rodeo club donates
Kent Neppl, left, of the Maddock Park Board, accepts a check in the amount of $466 from Greg Maddock of the Benson County Rodeo Association. The check represents proceeds from drink ticket sales at the park board’s Adults Only Prom held February 24 at the Multi-Purpose Building in Maddock.

Alumni tourney held
The 4th Annual Maddock Alumni Basketball Tournament was held on Saturday, April 7 at the Maddock High School gymnasium. There were 53 men and 18 women participating, with representatives from the 1971 to 2007 classes. The 1999-2000 men’s team won the championship in a double overtime thriller over the 1971-1987 squad. This year’s tournament raised $400 for the Maddock Sports Boosters. Next year it will be held on Saturday, March 22.

The 1999-2000 royal blue and gold men’s team are, back row, left to right, Shane Ostlie, Erick Lunde, Justin Swanson and Eric Hoffner.
Front row: David Brown, Joshua Swanson and Bryan Engebretson.

Alumni from 1971 to 1987 made up the red and gold men’s team. The "old guys" are, back row, left to right, Richard Bubach, Corey Bergrud, Robert Bubach, Aaron Johnson and Dan Odden. Front row: Tom Gilbertson, Keith Smith, Rod Maddock and Doug Schmid.

Orange and royal blue team members from the classes of 1996 to 1998 are, back row, left to right, Damon Finley, Duston Hoffner, Ryan Knatterud and Justin Hovland. Front row: Eric Olson, Davin Leier, Cory Rader and Jeff Daeley.

Alumni from 2001 to 2003 on the gold and royal blue team are, back row, left to right, David Stensland, Mark Simon, Justin Risovi and Travis Hoffner. Front row: Tom Abrahamson, Kasey Kallenbach, Ross Lindgren, Nathan Faleide and Tim Leier.

Columbia blue and red team members from the classes of 1990 to 1995 are, back row, left to right, Brad Kallenbach, Dale Anderson, Andrew Arnston, Aanen Bergrud, Mike Sorlie and Bryan Leier. Front row: Lance Alexander, John Barnard, Kyle Sabbe and Mark Williams.

The 2004 to 2007 alumni made up the gray and royal blue team. They are, back row, left to right, Caleb Backstrom, Cameron Abrahamson, Jesse Stensby, Brandon Lunde and Jamie Kallenbach. Front row: Aaron Smith, Dana Arne and Brandon Yri.

The first place girls’ gold and royal blue team consisted of alumni from 1999 to 2006. Team members are, back row, left to right, Julie Ellingson, JoLynn Jacobson, Kendra Lunde, Bridget Lunde and Heidi Simon. Front row: Erica Kallenbach, Autumn Georgeson, Julie Kleven Kramlich and Kassandra Griffin.

Alumni from 1980 to 1998 made up the royal blue and gold girls’ team. They are, back row, left to right, Ranelle Leier Warcken, Tammi Zeigler Johnson, Dawn Marie Hermanson and Karen Smith. Front row: Becky Kallenbach, Kim Backstrom, Rachel Maddock and Lisa Wetch. Not pictured is Jalissa Hovland.

Card tourney winners
Nearly 30 men and women took part in a card party sponsored by the Benson County Farmers Union on Friday, March 30. Texas Hold’em champions were Bryan Kenner, right, first place, who won the grand prize of a flat screen television and Rick Olson, left, second place, who won a portable DVD player. In the whist tournament Arland Hakanson and Erick Lunde won portable walkie-talkies. High point winner, Bonnie Johnson, walked away with a poker chip case she won in the pinochle tournament. All prizes, refreshments and lunch were provided by the Benson County Farmers Union.

Pinochle players at this table are, clockwise from the left, Joan Gilbertson, Arland Hakanson, Carroll Gilbertson and Brooke Hakanson.

Leave a Comment