Skip to content

4/19/2006 – News

Volume 123, Number 11             Wednesday, April 19th, 2006

Retires after 23 years
Edward Woyen ended his 23-year career as a rural carrier for the US Postal Service on March 31. He began his career Nov. 27, 1982. He spent three years as a substitute on Maddock Route 1 and six years on Maddock Route 2 prior to obtaining the route full-time.

Students sing
Randy Beard, a national award-winning educational consultant, shared his gift of music with Leeds Elementary School students recently.
Left to right are kindergarten students Rochelle Hansen, Garrett Johnson, Danielle Schwanke, Braydon Follman, Luke Pepple and Randy Beard. Beard spent a day at the school promoting literacy, music and learning.

Team logs 14-0
The Bonzers Sandwich Pub "Old Pro" team in Grand Forks, made up of players at least 30 years old, finished the regular city league season with a perfect 14-0 run. The season was topped off with a double overtime win in the championship game of the Grand Am Basketball Tournament at the Betty Engelstad Arena. The Bonzers team, managed by Oberon native and Grand Forks attorney Monty Stensland, beat teams from Minneapolis, Minn., Calgary, Alberta, Grand Forks and Hallock, Minn. Leeds native Jason Haagenson, a member of the team, was chosen MVP of the tournament. Left to right, front row: Dan Fjestead, Jason Haagenson, Bob McWilliams and Paul Vraa. Standing: Jon Schumacher, Jamie Sperle, Rich Bernhardt, Chad Caya, Joel Anderson, Monty Stensland and Tarvis Porter. Not pictured is Dan Syrup.

Minnewaukan artists
Minnewaukan art students did well at the student art show held at Pekin March 31-April 3. Best of show honors were won by Aaron Tollefson in the senior division and Brandon Miller in the junior division. Left to right, front row, are instructor Karen Anderson; Matthew IronShield, first place oil pastel; Marilyn Whitetail, honorable mention mixed media; Lee Anne DuBois, third place mixed media; and Mariah Mindt, first place pencil junior high. Back row: Miller; Isaac Swiftbird, honorable mention sculpture; Tyson Holy Bull, first place charcoal and second place pencil; Alyssa Erickson, third place charcoal; and Tollefson. Not pictured is Joshua Swiftbird, third place colored pencil.

Esther the Easter Bunny has been visiting the Maddock Memorial Home the past few weeks. The doll is placed in different chairs, etc. She’s been attending church, sits at the dinner table and can even be found under the beauty shop hair dryer at times. The bunny has also visited several places in Maddock, where pictures were taken and residents guess where she’s been. Here she’s shown with the Maddock Memorial Home official dog, Goldie.

Esther the Easter Bunny made a visit to The Bread Box in Maddock.

Observes 101st!
Ester Sexhus of Leeds celebrated her 101st birthday March 15 with approximately 40 relatives and friends at the home of Dennis and Sue Sexhus, who were hosts, along with Karen Beyer.

Oberon book bingo
The Oberon Elementary School held a book bingo for its students April 11. There was a good turnout and most students went home with at least 10 new books. Each family also got a pizza and a bottle of soda pop.

Maddock students do well in music
A junior high music contest was held at the New Rockford School March 3. All the Maddock junior high students took part.
Receiving star ratings for vocal solos were Ben Backstrom, Mikel Buckmier, Noah Engels, Preston Gilderhus, Courtney Hestdalen, Mylee Kenner, Drew Lauinger, Erin Leier and John Sears. Receiving excellent ratings for vocal solos were Rachel Olson, Janna Rice and Erin Yri.
Ensembles receiving star ratings were: a boys’ vocal ensemble composed of Ben Backstrom, Mikel Buckmier, Noah Engels, Preston Gilderhus, Drew Lauinger, Patrick Johnson and John Sears; a mixed vocal ensemble composed of Ben Backstrom, Mackenzie Bullinger, Mikel Buckmier, Noah Engels, Ashley Foss, Preston Gilderhus, Courtney Hestdalen, Drew Lauinger, Kayla Lauinger, Rachel Olson, Mylee Kenner, Janna Rice, Nikita Wright, Noah Engels, Patrick Johnson, Kara Kallenbach, Erin Leier, Kaia Pranke, John Sears, Erin Yri and Sharisa Yri; and a percussion ensemble made up of Preston Gilderhus, Matthew Hagen, John Sears and Jason Smith.
Ensembles receiving excellent ratings were: 7th grade mixed instrumental ensemble composed of Ben Backstrom, Alex Brandvold, Mackenzie Bullinger, Noah Engels, Brennan Eyl, Ashley Foss, Preston Gilderhus, Courtney Hestdalen, Kayla Lauinger, Rachel Olson, J.D. Schmid, Mason Tandeski, Ashley Wiegler and Nikita Wright; the 8th grade mixed instrumental ensemble made up of Derek Engh, Matthew Hagen, Erin Leier, Kaia Pranke, John Sears, Jason Smith, Erin Yri and Sharisa Yri; and two percussion ensembles, one composed of Erin Leier, Kaia Pranke, Erin Yri, Sharisa Yri and the other made up of Ben Backstrom, Courtney Hestdalen, Rachel Olson and Nikita Wright.

Maddock junior high students who took part in a junior high school music contest at New Rockford are pictured. Left to right, front row, are Mason Tandeski, Mikel Buckmier and Matthew Hagen. Second row: Nikita Wright, Noah Engels, J.D. Schmid, Ben Backstrom, Kayla Lauinger, Drew Lauinger and Mylee Kenner. Third row: Derek Engh, Alex Brandvold, Preston Gilderhus, Courtney Hestdalen, Brennan Eyl, Rachel Olson and Ashley Wiegler. Back row: John Sears, Jason Smith, Sharisa Yri, Erin Leier, Kaia Pranke and Erin Yri. Not pictured are Patrick Johnson, Mackenzie Bullinger, Janna Rice, Ashley Foss and Kara Kallenbach.

Maddock chapter attends meeting
"You Got the Power" was the message for members of the Maddock chapter of Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) who attended the 61st annual state leadership meeting April 9-11.
State meeting activities focused on taking responsibility, gathering and sharing information, developing leadership skills and recognizing accomplishments. Keynote speaker Bob Wells challenged members to identify their power and use it effectively as they plan and carry out their individual and chapter goals.
According to Ashley Finley, chapter president, the state meeting is a time for some members to demonstrate their work in Students Taking Action with Recognition (STAR) events, for others to receive training for special responsibilities and for all chapter delegates to gather ideas that will help them plan an even better program of action for next year. Ashley Duren was the chapter’s voting delegate at the state convention.
The chapter received an award for the chapter with the highest percent of increased membership. The chapter increased membership by 67% for the 2005-2006 school year. Terry Yri received a pin in recognition for her years as an FCCLA advisor.
FCCLA is part of the Family and Consumer Sciences Program and prepares youth for success in their personal lives. FCCLA is sponsored by the Maddock School District and the ND Department of Career and Technical Education.

Twelve members from the Maddock chapter attended the state FCCLA convention in Bismarck April 9-11. Left to right, front row: Erin Yri, Erin Leier, Mylee Kenner, Kaidi Kenner, Stephanie Johnson and Kimberly Randle. Back row: Jillian Maddock, Ashley Duren, Brianna Yri, Ashley Finley, Jalissa Hovland, Michelle Olson and Advisor Terry Yri.

The chapter had competitors in the "Focus on Children" junior division. Left to right are Stephanie Johnson, Jillian Maddock and Kaidi Kenner, who received silver for their efforts.

Leave a Comment