Skip to content

11/23/2005 – News

Volume 122, Number 42             Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005

Class donates bags
Members of the Senior Family & Consumer Science Class of the Maddock School sewed 35 drawstring pillowcase bags to be sent to hurricane victims in Louisiana. Fabric and ribbon to make these bags were donated by Wal-Mart, Kim Kenner of Maddock and Curt and Terry Yri of Minnewaukan. Left to right are Ashley Finley, Autumn Georgeson, Danae Kenner, Amanda Pranke and Erin Markestad.

Leeds music students
The Leeds third grade through sixth grade music students of the quarter are Kyle Jorgenson, Julissa McGarvey, Mylie Herman and Seth Bisbee. Lucia Jacobson is their instructor.

Leeds 1st and 2nd grade music students of the quarter are Joe Silliman and Josh Bowman. MiChelle Nybo is their instructor.

Leeds Band students of the quarter are McKenzie Silliman and Kendra Leibfried. Lucia Jacobson is their instructor.

Students tie-dye
Leeds elementary parents Kaye Nelsen, left, and Carol Thompson stand behind the Leeds first graders after they completed a T-shirt tie-dying project.
Students, left to right, are Grace Nybo, Erin Jorgenson, Gary Redetzke, Chace Laube, Kaylee Lybeck, Andrew Follman, Joshua Bowman, Ricky Jorgenson and Spencer Follman. Not pictured is Cullen Engstrom.

Youth essay winners told
Lucille Westby, youth chairman of the Auxiliary to the Robert Tovsrud VFW Post 757 of Harlow, reports the winners of the Auxiliary’s youth essay competition for sixth, seventh and eighth grade students are Janna Rice and Ben Backstrom of Maddock. Janna is the daughter of John and Barbara Rice and she is home-schooled. Ben is the son of Dennis and Priscilla Backstrom and he attends the Maddock School. Each student received $20 and a youth essay certificate from the Auxiliary.
The essay entitled, "Who Are Today’s Patriots?" gives students the opportunity to write from 300 to 400 words expressing their views on democracy.
Their essays will compete with other Sixth District winners. One winner from each district will advance to state competition.
Not pictured is Voice of Democracy winner Tiffany Broden, a senior at the Leeds School. She is a first place winner in the audio essay competition for grades 9-12 entitled "How I Demonstrate My Freedom." This contest is sponsored by VFW Post 757 and its Auxiliary. She received $50. Her audio essay will compete with other Sixth District winners.

Ben Backstrom

Janna Rice

$2,000 grant
The ND Community Foundation recently awarded a $2,000 grant to the Lake Region District Health Unit at Devils Lake. According to Linda Warner, RN, left, equipment will be purchased with the grant to enable public health nurses to screen cholesterol levels in Benson, Eddy, Ramsey and Pierce Counties. Kevin J. Dvorak, right, president and CEO of the foundation, presented the grant. The grants were made from the ND Community Foundation’s Unrestricted Fund. Grants are awarded on a competitive basis.
This year the foundation received over 110 grant requests and supported 58 of those projects for a total of $110,000.

Team competes
Seven officers of the A. S. Gibbens FFA Chapter of Maddock participated in the ND State FFA Parliamentary Procedure Contest held at the State Capitol in Bismarck. The team captured seventh place out of 16 teams which represented the top two teams from each of the eight FFA districts in North Dakota. The 16 teams were either first or second place teams at the district FFA contests. Pictured, left to right, front row are Renae Slater, secretary; Kassandra Griffin, reporter; Michelle Olson, treasurer; and Elisa Buehler, vice president. In the back row are Brian Johnson, assistant advisor; J.T. Rice, president; and Heidi Simon, sentinel.

Ramsey donates
Ramsey National Bank of Maddock recently provided two donations in the Maddock area. Scott Foss, left, receives a pledge of $15,000 for the Multi-Purpose Building now under construction in Maddock. Making the presentation is Dean Knutson of the Ramsey National Bank Maddock Branch.

Dean Knutson, right, of Ramsey National Bank of Maddock presented a $1,000 check to the Maddock Fire Department, represented by Ralph Olson, left.

Leave a Comment